TUESDAY: american apparel?

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

march 15/16 – So I’ve heard that American Apparel is apparently very controversial but to be honest, I don’t quite know what to believe. I know that there is a new chairwoman or CEO or something influential of the company who is unliked, due to the fact that she wants to go against what American Apparel have almost branded themselves as: uniqueness and difference (let’s ignore the previous problematic CEO Dov Charney, for now).

I respected American Apparel because the models they used were so diverse in terms of race, height, shape, etc and that they embraced being organic and natural (let’s gloss over the sweatshops the clothes are made in, for now). Apparently this new CEO has vowed to only cast Caucasian models with slim build, which is quite ridiculous, in my opinion.

Anyways, I was never much of a customer of American Apparel (never have been a customer actually, my wallet cannot withstand the prices in there), and while I still appreciate the clean, simple aesthetic they have, I suggest doing your research before buying from there. It actually made me really uncomfortable to walk into that store; I felt like I was being judged so I just walked right out after like 5 minutes. Nevertheless, you can’t deny that the whole “aesthetic” to that store is pleasing to the eye, hence why I took this picture.

SOURCES;

To American Apparel From a Model…

American Apparel wants models, not ‘Instagram hoes’

Why I’m quitting American Apparel

Leave a comment